Chapter 1.8 – Words That Stung

Of course having Marcus back at home meant that we made love to each other on a regular basis. To be honest, I missed having a man in my life, and I hadn’t been in bed with anyone for the longest time, so having Marcus around made me somewhat happier.

Marcus had moved in all his belongings just in time to celebrate Joshua’s birthday! Today he was to move onto the next stage in life and become a school-aged boy. I bought a vanilla cake and added a few candles. I picked up Joshua and leaned him closer to the candles, waiting for him to blow them out. We cheered him on and sang happy birthday. We were done singing, and Josh still hadn’t blown out his candles. It suddenly flashed on me how Patty was loud and excited when it was her birthday, and that clearly, Joshua was the complete opposite. He didn’t laugh or clap his hands at the balloons, and he refused to blow out his candles. I put him down, and still, all together we cheered for him as he aged.

Within a few seconds he had already grown up. He was taller, his hair was longer and no longer in their neat arrangement, and he got a whole new wardrobe.

For his birthday, we remodeled Joshua’s room. He stepped into the completely different bedroom and looked around. He smiled at let out a few “wow’s” along the way and tried out his new bed. Marcus and I looked at him asking, “Do you really like it?” Joshua nodded, still looking around at all the new furnishings.

We stood in the doorway and watched as Joshua explored his new bedroom. It was only after a few minutes that he noticed the other gift that was bought for him. It was an electric guitar of a newest edition and his favorite band had a guitar player that used the same exact instrument. It was Marcus’ idea to get it for him. I personally found it much, much too expensive, but when I saw Josh’s reaction, I knew we made the right choice. His joy was priceless as he picked up his new, cool guitar. A wide smile appeared on his face and his eyes glowed with happiness. Music made him happy.

I was happy till the moment Marcus stepped into the room and told Josh that it was his idea to buy the guitar. Sure, it was his idea and he payed for it, but it was my idea to redecorate his room, and I’m the one who put up the wallpapers, picked out the portraits, and added the decorations. I had even installed a fish bowl so Josh can have a pet, but he was so interested in his guitar, that he didn’t notice that gift. Marcus bent over and hugged Josh.

“Do you like my gift?” Marcus asked, smiling and hugging Josh.

“Yeah it’s cool, thanks!”

He lowered his voice, almost into a whisper as if telling a secret, “You know, your mother didn’t want me to get it for you, but I did it anyway.” He then looked at me grinning, as if he were just kidding around. To me, it wasn’t funny.

* * *

* * *

I felt tired, sick and dizzy. In times like these, I would usually call Carl, but clearly, that was no longer an option anymore. After our last fight, neither of us spoke to each other ever again. Instead, I called Patty and waited for her to meet me in my bedroom.

“Mom, what’s up? I’m busy chatting with someone on the computer.”

“Patty, this is serious. I think I’m pregnant.”

“What? Are you sure?”

“Well, I’m always hungry and tired. I feel sick half the time, and maybe it’s just my mind playing tricks on me, but I feel that I’ve gained weight.”

“Did you take a test?”

“No, I didn’t but I’m just sure.”

“What are you going to do?”

“That’s the problem. I don’t know.”

* * *

* * *

I waited another week, but by now, I knew I was pregnant. The morning sickness was always there, and back pains were starting to kick in. I was nervous to tell Marcus seeing as the last time things had gone bad. I sat in my room for hours, thinking what to do, what to say, and how to act. Finally it dawned on me that if Marcus truly loved me and my family, then he would be more than happy to have another baby with me. If he really wanted to move back into this home and live under this roof, then it must mean that he wants to be a part of this family.

We were in the kitchen and after all the plates were cleaned up, I told Marcus I had some important news to say.

“Yeah, what is it?” He finished up cleaning the table and gave me his full attention.

“Ok, so I don’t want you to have a freak out, but …” I took a breath, looked him right in the eye, and admitted, “I’m pregnant.”

Marcus took a deep breath, and took a step back. “Um, are you…are you sure?”

I nodded. I stared into his eyes trying to find what he was thinking. After all, don’t they say the eyes are the windows to the soul? I searched for an answer, but Marcus was simply staring towards the floor. He looked back up at me with an expression I couldn’t tell was good or bad.

“Well, I’m…I’m happy for you. For both of us. Do the kids know?”

“Patty does, but I never mentioned it to Joshua.”

He nodded his head. Clearly he was in discomfort. “I’m happy, really. It’s great news.”

There was tension in the air, as I asked Marcus to listen to my tummy. He put his ear against my stomach but after a few seconds he said, “Must be too early to hear anything.”

“Yeah, maybe.”

Clearly, there was something wrong. He didn’t seem as upset as the first time around, but still there was no enthusiasm and joy in his words. “Marcus, what’s wrong? Just tell me the truth about how your feeling with all this.”

“Ok listen, it’s not that I’m not happy, I am.”

“But..”

“But I just didn’t know you wanted to have another child. It was already a big step for me to come live here with you, and two kids, and now another one is on the way.”

“Wait a minute, are you blaming me for this all over again?”

“No, no of course not! I’m in this with you, but I’m just not sure I want this baby.”

I looked at him in shock and disbelief. I felt as if I were stabbed in the back, being betrayed all over again.

His words, were words that stung.

[1152words]

About auburn101
I've ran away at the age of 18. I've come a long way, but now I've arrived in a small town known as Sunset Valley. Ahead of me, awaits a long journey. A legacy is what I am starting. A legacy of my own, that I will built from the ground up.

27 Responses to Chapter 1.8 – Words That Stung

  1. funnyfuzzy96 says:

    Oh poor faith! She should never have let Marcus back into her life. I just knew he was bad news. Next thing you know he’ll leave again and that just sticks Faith in the whole solo-mother position again. 😦

    But awesome chapter all the same! πŸ™‚

    • auburn101 says:

      Thank you for commenting! I guess Marcus’ personality and reaction have something to do with all his negative traits! He’s a hot-headed, daredevil who gets neurotic!

  2. xtremesims says:

    Ok this guy still is a jerk. Joshua is a little cutie. Hopefully he will grow up to be a better man that his father.great update

  3. Chellekaz says:

    I had such high hopes for Marcus, he started this chapter off OK and then… I hope he comes around and is willing to dote on his new child and Faith the way he does Joshua – who is just too adorable.

  4. spongeb0berz says:

    Can she ever win!? Is there not a guy out there that will love her AND all her babies? I just feel so bad for her. I mean Marcus, you can’t really DO anything! This is your kid, man up and take care of him or her! It’s not really faiths’ fault, and well… I just think she deserves someone who wants ALL of them ;/

    Maybe Patty’s dad? He just seemed so nice… so caring. Faith had the wrong impression on him. Marcus needs the boot!

    • auburn101 says:

      It’s gotta be hard findind a man, who wants you, and your two kids, and now a third one on the way! Maybe Jeffrey will come back. I mean, they did say they would talk to each other once again. no? πŸ˜‰ Thanks for commenting! πŸ˜€

  5. marissa3 says:

    Come on Marcus!! Faith really had no luck with men, I just want her to find someone perfect!
    Joshua’s really cute too x

  6. ohsnapitzriah says:

    I never liked him! Why does Carl have to be gay??? Man! I wanted Carl and her to get together! 😦

    • auburn101 says:

      Thanks for the comment! It’s the first time I hear of you, do you have a blog? I was totally unaware about Carl, but every time Faith came to flirt with her, he would back off and refused, so I made up my own conclusions hehe.

  7. Emy says:

    Poor Faith. 😦

  8. snowdropxox says:

    OHHH DEAR!!!!! Not this again! How can he do that to poor Faith!! What a jerk! O well,besides from that, love Josh’s room it soooo cool he is soo cute! Can’t wait for the next chap with more drama!! =)

    • auburn101 says:

      Glad you’re liking the drama! I try to create new topics every chapter, but still keeping the same storyline. I have to admit I like Josh’s room too teehee.^^ Thanks for commenting! (:

  9. Jedidiah says:

    I think Marcus didn’t pay attention in health class! Josh seems like a quiet guy. Good think, Faith has Patty around. Seriously!

  10. Marcus! Ugh!!! Faith needs a decent guy!!!

    thewoodslegacy.wordpress.com

  11. Herenya says:

    Poor Faith, nothing seems to be going right for her.
    Marcus is real bad news, and I bet he doesn’t even like children!
    On the other hand I LOVE Josh’s shirt! GO NBC!

    • auburn101 says:

      Hihi, I fell in love with Josh’s shirt as well! I found it suit his personality perfectly. Marcus has a horrible temper, so anything that doesn’t go his way will get him angry. Thanks for commenting πŸ˜‰

  12. izzi654 says:

    I’m sorry I didn’t check it out earlier when you left the link on my website, but I just read all the chapters, and I LOVE this legacy!
    Sorry again for not checking it out earlier!!

    http://trufflelegacy.wordpress.com

    • auburn101 says:

      Hey, it’s no problem at all! I understand how sometimes it can get tough keeping track of things so no worries, it’s not a problem πŸ˜‰ I am happy however that you’ve commented on my site! I’ll happily go check out your blog! πŸ˜‰ I’ll add you to my blogroll as well.

  13. Dear lord slap a condom on that dude! ANOTHER pregnancy?! Silly people!

    Well I’m stumped. I’m not even going to try to guess who she’s going to end up with. 3:

  14. Tabby :) says:

    Aww, poor Faith;(

    She shouldn’t have let him back in her life.. I didn’t trust him. ;P
    Now he’s going to break her heart again. ;(

    Great chapter!

  15. dustydreamer says:

    *Shakes head* Boo to Marcus. I was holding my breath waiting for his reaction to her news…I was so disappointed he hadnt changed….

Leave a Reply

