Chapter 1.5 – I Was Afraid

All week-long, I woke up in the middle of the night, running to the washroom and throwing up. I felt nauseous most of my days, and I had called in sick at work twice. I tried hiding my vomiting from Patty, but I’m sure she suspected something. It wasn’t the first time however, that I had felt this way. Being not stupid, nor blind, I had doubts that maybe I was pregnant.

While doing grocery shopping, I stopped by at the main pharmacy, and bought myself a pregnancy test. I was anxious before testing out the little plastic stick. I went through the exact instructions given on the box to do the test properly. After going through all the steps, the little screen on the stick read positive. I was pregnant. Again. I stayed in the bathroom for what seemed to be an hour. Another baby? Was I ready? What would Marcus think? I had called him only once this whole week! Does he even want children? I thought this through carefully, not wanting things to happen the way they did the first time around.

I decided I had to call Marcus, to tell him about the pregnancy. I dialed his number, and tapped my foot as the first two rings went by. Third ring. On the fourth ring, he picked up. “Oh, hey Marcus!”
“Hey Faith! I don’t have much time to talk, I’m in a ten minute break from my work out. What’s up?”
“Oh, um, not much you?” I gulped, trying to build my courage to tell him my announcement.
“Nothing. Listen I’ve got to get going, why’d you call? You seem to have your mind elsewhere?”
“No, no don’t worry I’m just tired. Careful at your workout, bye.” The line ended. I couldn’t tell him. With my past experience with Patricia, I was afraid of the outcome with all this. Marcus seemed to be a decent man, but I didn’t know enough about him to determine what his reaction would me.

Right after my short phone call with Marcus, that I went to the computer in Patricia’s room. Her room was the darkest shade of black, and every space of wall was covered with posters of her favorite shows, singers and bands. I waited for the computer to open, and opened my chat box. Of course, being the computer freak he is, Carl was online. I typed a quick and brief message to him.
Carl, I’ve got myself in a bit of a tight situation, I was wondering if you can come over later today, or maybe tomorrow? This is important, and I don’t know who else to tell but you.
Carl answered instantly, saying he had to go to school tonight, but that he would come over tomorrow afternoon. I thanked him, for he was the only one who always seemed to be there for me, no matter what.

_

_

A knock came from the front door, and I rushed to open it. Carl was there, and I invited him inside. I had been waiting for his arrival for what seemed like forever, and now that he was here, I spilled out the story without taking a pause. “Carl, I didn’t think this was going to happen again. It was just one time, and it was so romantic, and I really wanted to do it, but I didn’t think this was going to be the outcome. And now…now I don’t know what to do, because of you know, well, what happened with Jeffrey and-” Carl cut me off, telling me to take a deep breath. I took a breath, and restarted my story making it clear and simple. “Marcus, the blonde from the gym asked me out on a date. We went to these gorgeous waterfalls, and had a romantic picnic under the stars. Everything was perfect, and then he took me back to his truck, and well we, you know. I wanted to, I really did, but I guess I wasn’t thinking. I’m pregnant Carl.”

The second I told Carl I was pregnant, he clapped his hands in joy, and with a high happy voice, he congratulated me. He reluctantly bent forward and rubbed my belly with a large smile spreading across his face. He was truly happy for me.After expressing his great joy, he looked up at me, seeing that I wasn’t as happy as he was. “What’s wrong,” he looked up at me, and guided me towards the couch.

Unsure of where to start, I tried explaining my feelings. “It’s just because you know what happened with Jeffrey, and how he left me all alone to raise Patty, I’m just scared it’s going to happen again with Marcus. From what I’ve seen, he seems kind and has his goals set straight, but I can’t tell what his reaction will be. I don’t know how to tell him.”
Carl comforted me as usual, “Hey, don’t worry about it okay. No matter what he thinks, I know you’re capable of doing this on your own. I mean look at Patty, already becoming a grown lady! You should be proud of yourself. But, I think it’s really important you tell Marcus, and that you tell him as soon as possible. He needs to know before it’s too late.”
As always, Carl was right, and as we talked about other details going on in our lives, I realized how he could always get my mind off the things that bothered me.

After hours of talking, Carl had to go to work, and I thanked him for coming. “You know you always save me in these situations. I owe you one Carl.”
“It’s not a problem really. Just be happy okay?” He gave me a friendly smile and hugged me before leaving. Talking to him had taken a huge weight off my shoulders.

The same night, I took a relaxing bath and built up my courage into calling Marcus. He answered on the first ring. After are usual small talk, I invited him over, telling him I had a surprise. Without hesitation he agreed to my offer. As soon as I clicked off the phone, my courage was slowly fading. I hoped this wouldn’t turn out the way it turned out with Jeffrey.

In less than an hour, Marcus was knocking at my door. I invited him inside, and for the first time he saw my home. He looked around impressed at how developed it looked even with only one person bringing in the money. We sat down at the kitchen table. “So, what’s this big surprise?” He asked me, getting right down to the point.
“Well,” I stood up, my knees shaking and my words stuttering. Having him in my face, made things much harder to say. I had practiced what I would tell him, but now, I wasn’t able to say a word.

“Well, Marcus, You know a few days ago, when you took me out on that date? Our first date, by the waterfalls.” My breathing was heavy, and I felt small compared to his muscular figure.
“Yeah, yeah I remember. It’s been a bit of time since then. What about it?”
“I’m not sure how to say this.”
“Just say it Faith.” Marcus looked at me with an intense look. Clearly, he was catching on that this surprise may not be good at all.
“I’m pregnant.”

When I told him the ‘surprise’ Marcus was shocked. His jaw dropped and it took him a few seconds to regain his control.
“You’re what?” He was breathing loudly, his chest pounding hard up and down. I was afraid.
“It happened the night in your truck. I found out only last week and I didn’t know how to tell you.” I tried explaining the situation, but he got angrier. He raised his tone of voice, and his face turned red.
“I know when it happened! It wasn’t suppose to happen that way though! You think I want a freakin’ kid!”

He yelled at me, getting closer and closer. I could feel his hot breath against my soft skin. I was afraid. With every step he took forward, I took a step back.

“Having a child isn’t that bad Marcus!”
“And you call this a surprise! Hell yeah, that is a surprise!”
“How can you be so shocked! I mean, you should’ve known that things like this do happen.”
“Yeah, yeah they happen but I don’t want a kid Faith! What don’t you understand. I DON’T WANT A KID!”

Marcus’ face was red, a vein in his neck was visible and blue, he was panting hard; he was furious. “This is all your fault! You probably planned all of this. I don’t want kids Faith and yet you get pregnant! What the hell were you thinking! Freaking kids… they’re the worst thing that can happen to me. I’m here trying to build up my career and you give me a child! What the hell am I suppose to do with that. Now you tell me Faith what will I do with that! I don’t want your kid. I never want anything to do with your baby!”

Now, I got angry. It was one thing to disagree with having this child, but it was another thing to blame it on me and insult my kids. “Ok now you listen to me Mr tough guy! If you think I did this alone well you’re wrong. In case you didn’t know, it takes two people to have a baby! You’re just as guilty in this as I am and you’re not getting away with this by blaming everything on me!”

Now I was the one taking steps towards him. I was the one yelling at the top of my lungs and losing control. I pointed a steady finger and pointed straight at Marcus. “Now, second of all, I already have a kid okay! She’s a teenager and her name is Patricia. And if you ever, EVER, insult me, or one of my kids, then you will regret it!”

He looked at me skeptically, his tone of voice back to normal, almost a whisper. “You have a daughter?”

“Yes, yes I do. And if that’s going to be a reason to make you leave me well then I’ll be more than happy to see you go. My kids are what I have most precious in life, and you’re not going to ruin it.” I walked away. I was proud of myself for standing my ground. I was afraid of what was to come. I was upset at the way Marcus reacted. I was sad for he would probably leave me.

I was living a deja vu as where I was going to be a single mom all over again.

[1796 words]

About auburn101
I've ran away at the age of 18. I've come a long way, but now I've arrived in a small town known as Sunset Valley. Ahead of me, awaits a long journey. A legacy is what I am starting. A legacy of my own, that I will built from the ground up.

29 Responses to Chapter 1.5 – I Was Afraid

  1. Chellekaz says:

    I KNOW that Faith can handle another kid, just look at how she handled that meat-head Marcus!

  2. Carebear728 says:

    Oh no well Marcus is an ass! Atleast Faith has Patricia to help out

  3. Elli James says:

    Oh dear, this is not how I had expected Marcus to act at all… Poor Faith. She always seemed to be disappointed by the men in her life. She deserves someone reliable and steady!

    And judging by the way Patty has turned out, I have a feeling Faith with be a wonderful mother to the little one.

    Great update! Can’t wait for more. πŸ™‚

    • auburn101 says:

      Yeah, to be honest I hadn’t expected marcus to act that way either, but with his neurotic and hot-headed traits, he clearly didn’t take the news too well. I was expecting it, but I’m liking the twist it’s given to the story!

  4. spongeb0berz says:

    What the heck? Marcus, it’s just a baby for crying out loud, no need to go all pshyco on her!
    Poor Faith! Yet another man to add to her list of jerks. Crap, now she has to raise another child alone. Baaaahhhh, Faith is a strong woman, I believe she can do it. I mean, look at Patty? A perfect example of her abilities. πŸ™‚

    Great chapter.

  5. Sherlister says:

    Oh well, Faith tried to find a decent man. Guess Marcus isn’t one of them. Can’t wait to see the baby πŸ˜€

  6. Lexi says:

    Am I the only one that thinks Carl should hook up with Faith? Seriously, he seems like the only loyal man in her life.
    Can’t wait to see the baby! πŸ˜€

  7. callierose says:

    Oh poor Faith 😦 nevermind, she’s better off without him. She has Carl by her side anyway, at least x

  8. I feel like Faith can do anything! She doesn’t need a man.

  9. Emy says:

    Awww, poor Faith. 😦 😦 Stupid Marcus. -.-

  10. Jedidiah says:

    Poor Faith! And I had hopes that Marcus would treat her nicely. Well, maybe Carl will heal her heart!

  11. Tabby :) says:

    Aww, poor Faith. 😦
    Carl is better than Marcus and Jeffrey, I’m hoping they get together. =]
    Great chapter! I also have 2 new chapters up.

  12. simlover says:

    OOO i love this legacy!!Its awsome!

  13. simlover says:

    PS i added you to my blogroll!

  14. xtremesims says:

    Wow Marcus is a jerk. Good riddance They will all be better of without him. I hope that she and Carl will get together

  15. I am a Simmer!!! says:

    When are she and Carl going to get together?????

  16. snowdropxox says:

    You go girl!! How could he hurt her like that saying he didn’t want a kid! What a jerk!

  17. marissa3 says:

    God Marcus! I feel for Faith, she deserves a good man x

  18. Nightrain17 says:

    OMG That guy is an ass! I’m glad Faith stood her ground!
    I mean seriously Faith should get with Carl, he’s like the only man who’s loyal to her and comforting. They’d make a perfect couple!
    I am excited for this new baby, maybe it will look more like Faith.

  19. zoxell says:

    I think I may have gone to college with that guy πŸ˜›
    Great post, but sorry to see Faith in such a bind. Nice to see Carl again… *nudge*

  20. Holy cow, it’s raining douchebags! I’m rooting for Carl and Faith, because Carl is awesome.

  21. dustydreamer says:

    Oh no! How can this poor girl be so unlucky with men!?!!!
    Why doesnt she just get with Carl? ;} Now he seems like a god choice for someone to raise a family with and someone who is supportive. Sad we never notice the things right under our noses.

    *Sigh* Douchy Marcus. :[ I have faith in Faith raising another baby by herself. She does have pretty Patty now to help her out as well.

Leave a Reply

