Chapter 1 – Auburn Identity

I’ve been walking for hours now, unable to find myself a ride. I didn’t want to spend my money on a cab, so I kept walking. I’m only eighteen, and I’ve run away from my home exactly one week ago.

My mom I suppose was a hard-working woman, but she worked for all the wrong reasons. She didn’t work because she liked her job, or because she wanted to pay for her only child. She didn’t want to pay for my future school fees, or for my birthday parties or Christmas gifts. She mostly worked to have a little food on the table, lots of drinks for my dad, and even more cigarettes for herself. Yes, my dad was a heavy drinker. Yes, my mom was a heavy smoker.

My mom was definitely a hard-core cigarette smoker since her teenage years. I’ve never seen her smoking anything else other than cigarettes, but I could never trust her. She was always the type to lie about money, outings, her savings, pretty much everything. Though I suppose she always had a good heart and deep down, she wanted what was best for me. Really deep down. My dad had been drinking ever since I was born. He wasn’t the type of fancy drinker who would do wine tasting, but more of the type to sit around the house always carrying a beer bottle in hand. The last time he had an official job was maybe six months ago, but ever since then, he just waits for my hardworking mom to bring back the little money she was earning. He didn’t get drunk very often, but I would say that he was quiet woozy every single night. He rarely got violent, but he always had that mean tone and rough look. He already hit my mom several times when she would annoy him, but as for me he only hit me once, and that was a little over a week ago. That was what had cut my very last strings and made me run away.

Like I’ve mentioned earlier, I’m only eighteen. My name use to be Alexandra Williams, but the day I turned eighteen, I changed my name to Faith Auburn. For a full week now, I’ve been running away. Running, and running, but not knowing where I was heading. I walked, I hitchhiked, I used a taxi maybe once or twice at the most. When the days were sunny I’d try finding a small lake to maybe wash my hands and face, and when night came, I’d find myself a park bench to get a little amount of sleep. However, when the days were cold and rainy, I tried keeping the little amount of belongings I had dried. After the rough times, I had escaped my childhood home….

After doing miles and miles of travel, I finally found where my future would begin. Sunset Valley. The sky was a clear blue here, the birds were chirping, the ocean waves an amazing see-through blue and everything seemed so calm. The small town I came from was filled with graffiti-ed walls, dirty trash in people’s yards, young kids already causing trouble, and most important, it had no love. Now, entering a new town, was a new me. A new name, a new identity. And with the new name, I was going to create my very own legacy. I was going to build up a family legacy from the ground up, from sticks and stones, and turn the Auburn name, a famous one.

My goal when I arrived Sunset Valley, was to build myself with a new me, with a new identity. I wanted the Auburn name to be known worldwide, known as good people with a kind heart. But before reaching the top of the world, I had to set myself back down to earth and get started. I found myself a large piece of land that was selling for a reasonable price. I bought the land, and had a small amount of money left. When I ran away, I didn’t take any credit cards or any other type of card this way my parents wouldn’t track me down.

I had an exceptional view from here. Just a few steps away was a steep cliff made up with large rocks. Below was the golden sandy beach with its clear blue water ocean. From here, my hair was being blown in the wind, and finally I felt a glimpse of success. I was independent.

With the little money I had left, I was able to build something that was fast, cheap, and useful. I created a small space that contained nothing but necessities such as fridge, stove, shower, bed, and toilet. After the few renovations, I really had no money left.

After just a week, all the groceries I had bought were gone. The fridge was empty except for a single juice box. I had no money to buy myself anything, or order a pizza so, I did something quiet embarrassing. At first I pushed the idea away, but the growling of my stomach took over. I went over to the main park. I thought it would be empty since it was near lunch time, but I was actually very wrong. People were fishing, and doing picnics, all of them enjoying the warm weather. When I saw someone fishing, I thought that wasn’t such a bad idea. There were fishing poles on the side of the lake, and without knowing how it worked, just took it and through the line into the water. I waited. And waited. I brought the line back, and saw that no fishes had bitten. I through it again several times, but after a half hour, I was starving and could no longer wait.

I saw a few apple trees sitting around the park, so I decided to take a few. I was a little embarrassed seeing as I was practically stealing apples from a public area, but I couldn’t wait any longer. I ate the first apple I picked, and felt at least a little more satisfied.

I went to bed that night, knowing that this wasn’t going to become a usual habit. I had to find a job.

I didn’t necessarily have any amazing skills in any department. I would have liked going into the cooking business, but I had no money, and no real talent. Politics was never my type of thing, and I was never the athletic type. It’s for all those reasons I decided to apply for a part-time job as a secretary at the community spa. The windows were filled with posters that were practically begging for employees, so when I said I was applying for the job, they were so much in need, they practically hired me on the spot! Even if it was going to be a part-time job, the little money I would get would at least be better than nothing.

After getting the job, I went to the gym for a quick workout; I tried taking advantage of whatever was free. After practicing me endurance, and after showering, I met someone about my age, maybe older. His name was Carl Jentia. He had a great sense of humor, and there seemed to have something friendly about him. He told me how he had went to college to study in electricity, but after two years of schooling, dropped out. Instead he wanted to become a mechanic, and he has started his schooling only three months ago. Turns our he was only four years older than me.

I only started working in three days, and in the meantime I needed money. Because food was so hard to get, I figured I’d get a job at the small grocery store nearby and maybe get discounts on most of the food. Getting the job was a lot harder than at the spa, but the manager must have seen potential in me since he hired me. Of course I never mentioned that I had another job as well. I was right about the discounts, most of the foods came from 15% to 45% off!

Working two jobs certainly wasn’t the easiest things. I worked a long shift in the morning at the groceries and had to rush to the spa just to make it in time. I did all that running and rushing for a full week. It was saturday night, and the book with appointments at the spa was packed. My colleague, Gina, had to rush home and I was the one who had to replace her late night shift. I was excited because I would be making double the money, but then I thought about my other job at the grocery store. I had to be there before 9! There was no way I was going to make it, and I couldn’t afford losing that job. The food was so much cheaper, and I made great friends. I called the last seven clients for the night, and told them I was sorry, but because of an emergency, we had to book their appointments on another day. Most were frustrated, but I had no choice. I called a taxi, and rushed to the grocery’s.

I climbed out of the taxi and ran towards the back doors of the grocery store. I passed through the small “Staff Only” terrace and found my boss, Mrs.Kai standing at the door, arms crossed and foot tapping impatiently on the brick floors.Out of breath, I tried explaining to her why I was late. I was about to spill out the true story, but realized I couldn’t tell her about my second job, or I would have been fried on the spot. Instead, I lied, “Mrs.Kai, you must understand! I was out-of-town all day sight-seeing and I got caught up in traffic!” Mrs.Kai was annoyed and didn’t take my lame excuses. “I told you how risky you taking this job was going be! You promised me to do things once, and to do them right! My staff has too many employees, but I thought you would be a good addition to the crew. I am sorry for you Faith, but we no longer need you around! We cannot afford any more serious mistakes like this, especially on a Saturday night!.” I went back home sad and with tears in my eyes. Now what was I suppose to do.

Just to add onto my trouble, the next day after I lost my job, my stove broke down! Every time I turned it on, smoke would start to appear. I had no idea what to do, and couldn’t afford buying a new one, so I had no choice but call a repairman. I dialed the number, and I was directed to one of the female employees. She told me she would send one of her best worker and that he would be there in two hours no more. I thanked her, and thought on how I would pay this repairman. I decided to make pancakes through the microwave and maybe try bribing the worker. If I made him a small lunch, who would give me a discount? I hope.

I took the frozen pancakes, threw them into the microwave, and set the timer for 15 minutes, when in fact, I meant to write in 1 minute and 15 seconds…

I took a long relaxing shower,wanting to look nice for when the repairman were to come. I stepped out of the shower, and realized how the pancakes were still cooking. I ran to the microwave, and when I saw the pancakes, I sighed. They were clearly burnt. Why was I always so unlucky?

The repairman got here faster than I had expected. I sprayed a scent of my light perfume to get rid of the burnt pancake smell. The worker introduced himself as he walked into my embarrassingly small home. “You must be Mrs.Faith Auburn.” I blushed as he came to shake hands with me. “Actually, it’s just MISS, I’m not married.” He grinned at me, showing a row of perfectly straight and white teeth and introduced himself, “I’m Jeffrey Raynolds.” I guided him towards the stove and watched as he tried to figure out the problem. He was on his knees with a flash light looking inside the oven. I couldn’t help but look at his behind. Oops. He pulled out a small silver nail and held it up to me. “You just have a small nail that was blocking one of the motors. Your problem should be solved!” I knew what was next … the bill.

I suddenly started spilling out my attempt at making a lunch but instead of success came failure. “I tried making some quick pancakes to serve you a small lunch before your next appointee, but I put them in the microwave, and put in the wrong number, and..and I was in the shower…I couldn’t save them.” Jeffrey stepped closer towards me and tilted his head, “Were you trying to buy me out with pancakes?” I looked down cheaply, too humiliated to look him straight in the eye. I answered him softly, “Pretty much.” He gently took my chin and brought my face upwards towards him. He smiled a friendly smile and comfortingly said, “Don’t worry about it.”

He continued, “Maybe instead of pancakes, you can pay me back in another way?” As he got closer against me, I realized where this was going. I smiled as if I were still a teenager in highschool, when the popular boy from school was flirting with me. Jeffrey took my waist and brought it closer against him. I looked deeply into his eyes, hes brownish, green eyes. He leaned down towards me, and lay a soft, gently kiss onto my lips. I couldn’t resist but reply to him with a passionate kiss in return.

We kissed tenderly, and all while guiding me towards the bed, Jeff turned off the lights. I was surprised at how quickly he undressed me, and himself. We were laying on the bed, and he got over me. I was nervous yet excited. He was going to be my first. As we kissed, his grip being tighter, and his kisses more rough. He was getting carried away as he held me down and kissed down my neck. I tried telling him to stop, but he kept undressing me and kissing me. I didn’t want my first time to be so rough and quick. I tried pushing him away, but he pushed me harder against the sheets of the bed.

In fifteen minutes, it was over. My ‘first time’ was not how I had expected it.

Jeffrey fell asleep quickly after out ‘love-making’, and I fell asleep not long after. As I lay down under the covers of my bed, I had no idea that in only a few hours, I was sleeping alone. Jeff was gone.

I woke up the next day, with my body aching. Jeffrey wasn’t around, and I figured he had gotten up and went to work. I was about to call him, but realized I hadn’t gotten his number. I didn’t know where he lived either…

I tried contacting him for the next week, but I had nowhere to start. I lay in bed most of the week, and called in sick twice at work. I was always dizzy and feeling nautious and the thought that I was only a one night thing, was coming close and closer to reality.

After one full week since the last time I saw Jeffrey, I learned something that seemed so far away to reality. Something that I really didn’t want to give the Auburn Identity. I was pregnant.

[2617 words]

___________________________________________________________________________

___________________________________________________________________________

Author’s note:
Hey everyone! I’d like to start off by welcoming you to the new legacy! Please leave me a link yo all your interesting sites, I’d love to add you to my blogroll and read all about your sims stories! I’d also like to mention that the next following chapters shouldn’t be as long as this, so not to worry! The readings should become a little shorter. Also, if any of you have twitter, can you please leave me your twitter name in a comment? You can follow me @AuburnLegacyΒ Β Β  ! If you have discovered my legacy, can you please add me to my blogroll? Trying to expand and allow more people to read about the Auburns!

I thank you for all the support, and I wish you happy readings for the next chapters to come!

About auburn101
I've ran away at the age of 18. I've come a long way, but now I've arrived in a small town known as Sunset Valley. Ahead of me, awaits a long journey. A legacy is what I am starting. A legacy of my own, that I will built from the ground up.

47 Responses to Chapter 1 – Auburn Identity

  1. Cami says:

    Oh no! What a start at her new life!

  2. Tipix says:

    Shame, barely enough money to feed herself and Faith already has a little one on the way! Lovely first chapter, I hope that your founder comes across some good luck soon.

  3. marissa3 says:

    Great start! She had such a hard life before she came here, I loved hearing about her mothers nicotine addiction and her fathers drinking.
    Now her life’s going to get even harder with a little one on the way and no money to her name! Can’t wait to see what else happens throughout her life! xxx

    • auburn101 says:

      Thanks for commenting! πŸ˜€ I’m really excited to see how Faith will pull through with a baby on the way … and I’m glad you’re enjoying it! ❀

  4. StarSarah says:

    Good start. Cant wait to read more x

  5. callierose says:

    Wonderful start! Her backstory is so sad, especially when you realise that there are people IRL who go through the exact same thing. Still, I hope she’s managed to escape that life in Sunset Valley! Although pregnancy maybe wasn’t on her “to do” list… (though Jeff clearly was!)
    Teeny tiny hint for the picture taking, use the cheat “hideheadlineeffects on”. Hides speech bubbles, plumbob, etc. πŸ™‚ x

    • auburn101 says:

      Hey Callierose! I’m glad you’re enjoying the legacy so far, but your right about people having that type of life … It is pretty sad. I’m excited to see how things will turn out now with a little one around… And thank you for the advice to hide the think/speech bubbles. It’ll come in handy! πŸ™‚

  6. zoxell says:

    A rough start for Alexandra/Faith. Can’t say I blame her for walking away at eighteen. Not exactly the new start she was hoping for, I’m sure. πŸ˜›

  7. funnyfuzzy96 says:

    Wow what a great start! I hope that Faith is able to look after this baby, it’s going to be so hard since she has hardly enough money to support herself to begin with.

  8. Oh no, what an awful start for Faith. I sure hope things get better for her!

  9. Jedidiah says:

    OMG, she paid him back with her body!!!!! I have visions of Kyouya Ootori of Ouran High School in my head!!! I’m glad, you didn’t made Jeff a good guy… I mean what kind of handy man is wanting THAT from an 18 yr old???
    Great start on the legacy. Very real with the dilemma of having to have two jobs to make ends meet. Hope to read more.
    -Jed

  10. threescompanylegacy says:

    omg she is soo pretty (love her purple shirt). I hope she can cope with her child. it will be so awesome to see what it looks like

  11. spongeb0berz says:

    Aww that really sucks the way her life started out 😦 Got forced into sleeping with some dude, cause had no money. He was really cute though.. but that’s beside the point XD. Hey don’t worry about it being long, I love a good read. I really liked your start. It’s interesting! I honestly felt really bad that she lost her job 😦 I hope she can find another one, because she’s gonna be a mommy!

    Great job,

    -Sponge

    Here’s my link:

    legacychallengez.wordpress.com

    πŸ˜‰

    • auburn101 says:

      Hey Sponge! πŸ™‚ I have to agree that it is a bit of a rough start, especially with a baby on the way…
      Haha, glad you found Jeffrey cute (;
      Thanks for reading & commenting, I’ll definitely check out your blog! πŸ™‚

  12. Carebear728 says:

    I love this beginning and poor Faith

  13. snowdropxox says:

    Hello! Your legacy is looking to have a rough life for poor old Faith. She is sooo pretty! Love it already! Oh! Almost forgot! I just added you to my links page like you asked, can’t wait to hear from you!

  14. Tabby :) says:

    Wow, this is great!
    Can’t wait to see what happens next! πŸ™‚

  15. Sherlister says:

    Hey! Just found your legacy and I really like your 1st chapter :> Auburn is really pretty!
    my link to my legacy blog is http://terrylegacy.wordpress.com
    added you to my blogroll ^^

  16. Emy says:

    Hey. πŸ˜€ This is Emy from the Dream Legacy. I’m going to catch up and then add you to my links.

    Poor Faith… what a start to her new life. Jeffrey needs a smack around the head. >8U

    Great start. πŸ˜€ ^^

  17. xtremesims says:

    Ha ha her real name is my daughter’s name. Great start on the legacy. I am sure that she will make the best of it

  18. Elli James says:

    I just stumbled across your legacy, and after reading the first chapter, I already love it!

    I think it’s interesting that your founder didn’t run off and throw herself into a nine-to-five job, and instead went for part-time jobs. It’s a different view from any founder I’ve seen before, and definitely adds to the unique nature of the Auburn family!

    Anyways, off to read more! Great first chapter for sure!

    • auburn101 says:

      Hey! I always enjoy having new readers to the legacy! πŸ™‚ I’m glad your enjoying Faith’s view on things, and I’ll definitely be checking out your legacy once I find the time! I’ll also be more than happy to add you to my blogroll. Thanks for the support! πŸ˜€

  19. Nightrain17 says:

    Wow. She’s had such a dark past 😦 Poor Faith
    and then the whole I’m pregnant from a one night stand thing is never the best way to start a new life.
    My heart goes out to Faith.
    Great start ^_^

  20. Hghsims97 says:

    Love her past! She has a mighty problem on her hands πŸ™‚

    Please check out my legacy:
    http://legacy-evans.blogspot.com/

    Thanks so much!
    Hghsims97

  21. seaweedy says:

    Hello. I was wondering if you could link me to you page at TS3. I would like to feature this story on my blog and I also like to have a link for authors.
    My thread is:
    http://forum.thesims3.com/jforum/posts/list/361768.page
    Just post a comment there and then I can find you. Thanks!

  22. :O Jeffrey’s such an asswipe! Auburn is going to find an awesome guy and he’s gonna be boss, because I said so.

    Man, she’s had a rough life…

  23. Really great first post! You wrote Faith’s feelings really well!
    I’m DEFFINETLY adding this to my blog roll!

  24. dustydreamer says:

    Aww! What a ROUGH start to her legacy! Auburn really has it tough but I like her willingness to do what she can to survive. I really like how you write and captured all her feelings, nervousness, thoughts. Nicely done!
    I really thought that Jeff would be a good guy, something lucky finally in her life,..but he turned out to be a creep. :[

Leave a Reply

